Remembering Lorna


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 31:30 “Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.”

I was an only child, but I was blessed with many cousins.  They were all a big part of my life, but some were closer than others.  I was very close to two sisters.  They lived in Kansas, so I only saw them on holidays as a rule.  Every summer, however, we met at my grandparents house and spent a week together.  I treasure those memories!  My grandmother cooked for us and played with us.  She always had a smile or a laugh, no matter what shenanigans we were up to!  The one thing that she didn’t tolerate, however, was jumping on the feather bed.  We knew this, but couldn’t resist the forbidden fruit occasionally.  I think we enjoyed getting caught as much or more than the jumping because it reinforced boundaries and her love for us.  My grandfather was a great story-teller, and he knew lots of silly songs.  We delighted in sitting around him listening to him sing and tell stories. We also learned to make a wide path around a one-pound Folger’s coffee can.  He chewed tobacco, and that coffee can was his spittoon!  We considered it gross then, and my opinion hasn’t changed over the years.

We wrote letters to each other in between visits, and we sent cartoons clipped from the paper.  Giggling and laughter were our specialties, and that is what I remember most.  We were one year apart in age, with Lorna being the oldest, me in the middle, and Linda the youngest.  They always wanted me in the middle of everything, and I loved that.  They were the closest thing I had to sisters, and I treasured both of them.

Sadly, Linda died of ovarian cancer in her 20’s.  The cancer was discovered when her son was delivered, and there was nothing doctors could do to save her.  When I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 2008, it was a different scenario.  Treatment options had changed tremendously, and I am living proof of that.  Diagnosis was still difficult almost 40 years later, but survival rates had improved.

Lorna’s battle was with breast cancer, and she fought long and hard.  She called a few times when she was having a pity party, but for the most part she was a brave and beautiful warrior.  Lorna was a Proverbs 31 woman.  She loved her family, her friends, but most of all she loved Jesus.  She served Him faithfully until the end, and I know she is with Him today.

I miss Linda and Lorna terribly, but I also know I will see them again some day.  I imagine we will have our own corner in Heaven where we can laugh, giggle and remember.  That comforts me, but Heaven can wait.  I  am still here, and I have a story to tell.  Even though I tested negative for the BRCA mutation, I feel there is a genetic link.

I’m glad I had ovarian cancer!  Now my daughter and my granddaughters are aware of the beast who hides silently in the darkness.  They have partnered with me to raise awareness, but they are also alert to the possibility in their own lives.  My cancer served a purpose.  God had a plan!  My suffering was worthwhile.

I’m celebrating Lorna’s birthday in my heart today.  She would have been 71, and she would have made the day special for all those around her.  I am remembering a beautiful woman who was a part of me for so many years.  She lives on in my heart and in the hearts of her family.

Save me a place in the corner, Lorna!  Give Linda a hug!  I’ll see you again one day!  Happy birthday!

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1cor1013
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 09:47:58

    A copy of this beautiful tribute is being printed for my family file. Thank you for this. It means so much to me. They were both beautiful souls.

  2. chemocurls
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:00:21

    Yes, they were, Donna Sue. I’m debating about sharing this with Aunt Jewell, but I guess I will. Hope all is well with you. Much love.

  3. fiercemothering
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:43:29

    I love this and you, Connie. I believe there is a big ‘ol feather bed up there and those two beautiful girls are jumping on it to their heart’s content. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this and for your bravery. I think Jewell would love this as much as I do. xxoo

  4. chemocurls
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:47:15

    Thank you, April. I shared it with Aunt Jewell, so I hope it doesn’t make her too sad. I posted a pic to FB of the three of us, all decked out in homemade dresses. Aunt Ima even made hats for Linda and Lorna. I hated hats, so I just have flowers in my hair! I think the pic was taken on our grandparents 50th wedding anniversary. Enjoy! Much love.

  5. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 11:39:17

    What a beautiful tribute to your sisters from a woman with an amazing generous heart. This brought tears to my eyes but knowing that these beautiful women are in heaven awaiting you brings joy to my heart. You are so loved! Blessings,

  6. chemocurls
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 11:43:26

    I imagine they are laughing & jumping on a giant feather bed, while my grandmother looks on! I have been blessed with so much love! God is amazing in His love & provision for us. Hope all is well, Ellie.

  7. momandprophet
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:06:16

    Lovely, Mom.