My Rights or His Will


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 2:5-8 “Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus, who, being in the form of God, did not consider it robbery to be equal with God, but made Himself of no reputation, taking the form of a bondservant, and coming in the likeness of men.  And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross.”

I read an interesting post today about measuring sticks.  They are most often used as weapons to beat ourselves or someone else.  It is easy to measure ourselves against others, but what is the point?  We will be better in some ways, worse in others, but does it matter?

I’m thinking today about what Jesus was willing to give up for me.  Jesus was and will always be God, but He gave that up willingly for a season to come to save me.  What “rights”, “privileges” am I clinging to today?  What is more important than my relationship to Jesus?

For me, true joy comes from complete surrender.  I must empty myself of “my rights”, “my privileges” and give myself wholly to what Jesus wants from my life.  It is only in surrender that I will find happiness.  But that thinking runs so counter to the world.  From a worldly view, it’s all about me.  What do I want?  What do I need?  I’ve tried finding happiness on my own and failed miserably because I was using the wrong measuring stick.  Someone will always be prettier than I am, smarter, more glib.

So today I want to try to do it God’s way.  I want to be obedient to His call on my life and deny self.  I fall to my knees and confess that Jesus Christ is Lord of my life.  No measuring sticks today.  Just the blood of the Lamb that washed me white as snow.

Song for the day:  “Crucified with Christ” by Phillips, Craig & Dean

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0_1jazh454  

Comments are closed.

