The Conduit


Scripture for the day: 2 Corinthians 4:7 “We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure. This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.”

I love having electricity in my home. It warms me because it powers our furnace. It feeds me because my stove and refrigerator depend on it to work. It illumines my world enabling me to find my way in the dark, read, accomplish daily grooming chores, etc. I would hate to go back to the days when homes used wood for heating and cooking, kerosene for lamps, etc. Lucky for me, I was born too late for those delights, but I visited relatives who lived that way. I never envied them their existence.

The truth is, though, I have never seen electricity. It simply flows through wires into my home, and I see the result, reap the benefit. The wire simply conducts the electricity; it doesn’t produce it. The wire is necessary to get the current where it needs to go, but it is simply a conduit. The wire has no power in itself.

I am like that wire. Because I accepted Christ, I am wired for service in His Kingdom. His love, His grace, His spirit flow through me. My lights are always available, but I have to flip the switch. Sometimes I fail to flip the switch, and His power does not flow. It is there, always, but I have to activate it. Satan is always trying to short-circuit my life, disrupting the flow of God’s power. He does this with his lies and his deception. The power of God is still there, but Satan distracts me. I forget the Source of my power. I fail to flip the switch and sit in the darkness of defeat.

But not today! All the lights are on in my house. The sweet power of Jesus is flowing through me. I am alive! I tingle with the current of His love. God’s power is working through me. I can feel Him, and I am so humbled and grateful.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 14:44:11

    Wow, what a great post! (I know you aren’t posting as many as you have been but when you do, they sure are excellent!) Good to hear from you again, blessings

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 14:56:26

    Thanks, Ellie. I hope to write more this year. I miss doing it. Hope all is well with you. Blessings.

