Wonderfully Made!


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 139:13-14 “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

Psalm 139 is a favorite.  I love the idea that God created me in His image, and that I am wonderfully made!  When I look in the mirror, I see imperfections, flaws.  But, when God sees me, I am perfect, made in His image!

I attended a meeting this morning where miscarriage and fertility issues were discussed.  The speaker was a pastor’s wife who has two sons with her on earth and five babies in heaven.  It was very touching to hear her story, and tissues were on every table.  Most of the ladies had been touched in some way by the loss of a child.  Perhaps it wasn’t them personally but a family member or friend.

When I read this Scripture, I am reminded that not all beings that God creates, knits together in the mother’s womb, will ever know life on this earth.  Some will never be held in their mother’s arms, will never take a breath, but they belong to God.  They are sinless, living with their Father in heaven and praising His name.  What a joyous thought!  But the heartache remains in those left behind.

The speaker shared how her 5 miscarriages changed her.  She talked about layers of grief, and how hard it is to deal with the loss of a child.  I was reminded of my mother who carried her first little girl to term, but the doctor broke her neck in the delivery.  My mother held her baby, but she never brought her home to the nursery she had prepared.  My mother carried that scar with her all of her life.  Every Memorial Day she would place pink rosebuds on her baby’s grave.  She bought the flowers lovingly and placed them with great care.  She cherished the task.  It was an act of love.  I often thought about my sister, Charslie Diane, and wondered if we would have been great friends.  She was always a part of our family.  She just wasn’t visible.

The lady shared how deep her depression grew, even to the point of suicide.  She said she was so wounded, and yet she couldn’t tell anyone.  Our society isn’t terribly understanding about miscarriage.  You often hear “Don’t worry.  You’ll have other children.”  Or “You’ll get over it in time.”  From listening to the speaker today and remembering my mother’s life, I realize you don’t get over it.  No matter how many children you have, you will always grieve for the one you lost.

Psalm 34:3 says “Oh, magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together.”

The speaker talked about picturing her 5 babies praising God with song and dance!  She shared how she sometimes joins them in their jubilant praise, and she rejoices with them.  She and her husband made sure that their two sons were saved so that one day they can all be together in Heaven one day!

That is how I picture my family:  Charslie, Mother and Daddy singing and dancing in heaven.  I know that I will join them one day.  What a day of rejoicing that will be!

John 16:33 says “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart!  I have overcome the world.”  Illness, loss of babies, parents, friends are all a part of our world.  Trials will come, but the lesson may be in our reaction to those deep heartaches.  We have a choice.  We can live a wounded life and let the cancer of negativity destroy our world or we can live an enriched life and learn from our trials.

I choose victory in Jesus, and I will live to the fullest, singing, dancing, rejoicing in Him!

Song for the day:  “Praise You in This Storm”, Casting Crowns

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUWbmtbzDno

Comments are closed.

