Busyness


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

Be still.  I struggle with that command, and I always have.  I am very good at “doing”.  I excel at “overdoing”, but this verse wants me to be still.  Oh, how I struggle with that.  My mother was a doer.  She was always working.  Even if she was sitting, she was crocheting or doing something with her hands.  I don’t know whether I emulated her or whether I was born with her nature.  Either way, I, too, strive on activity.

God has worked on this for years in my life, and I have always resisted.  But age is on His side now, and so that makes His task easier.  He has also placed me in situations where  silence, inactivity were required.  When my mother was in a nursing home, I visited her almost every day.  On my way to her room, I passed a sign that said “Be still, and know that I am God”.  Every day  I read that on my way to sit with her and be still.  I might have been sitting quietly, but inside I was churning.  Nothing quiet going on inside of me!

Then along came cancer.  I was too sick to “do” anything, and so I was in bed.  I didn’t have a chance to recover from surgery before I started chemo.  With that, I experienced the kind of fatigue I had never known before.  I was too tired to fight, and so I gave in to being still.  I faced death, but God chose to save me.  In saving me, He also changed me.  I am no longer the President of Over-doers Anonymous, nor do I want to be.  I am content to let others take charge or let things go undone. Psalm 23:2 says “He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.”  Through cancer treatment and recovery He taught me to lie down and be still.  I have no desire to leave His green pastures and get back on the interstate highway.

Psalm 90:12 says “So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”  I am selective now in my commitments.  I try to follow His leadership in my life and take on those tasks I feel He wants me to accomplish.

His way is so much better than my way. Philippians 4:6-7 says “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God, and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”  I claim this scripture today, and I am at peace.

Song for the day:  “Be Still My Soul” by Kari Jobe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mq59iE3MhXM

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 13:46:04

    Great post. I can certainly identify with it because as a farm girl, my parents expected me to be busy every moment or they “would find something for me to do” if you can relate. It took me so very long to learn how to actually relax and “Be still” as you say. What a joy that has been to experience the real Peace in the Lord. Blessings,

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 13:51:01

    My mother always said “Idle hands are the devil’s workplace” or something like that. Well, I certainly didn’t want to be a part of anything devilish! Hence, I became “busy”. I have learned to guard my time closely now because I realize it is a limited commodity. Is it God’s will that I do something? Fine. I’m ready. But I’m much more selective than I used to be, and so far I don’t think the devil is benefiting at all. Jesus is because I’m spending more time with Him. Blessings to you as well, Ellie.

  3. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 13:57:34

    Thanks, sometimes just to be a “Mary” relaxing at the feet of Jesus is enough. Both of us were Martha’s who became (or will become?) a Mary. I’ve learned to say no to busyness over time and not feel guilty about it. 🙂

