Follow Me!


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 16:24-25 “Then Jesus said to His disciples, ‘If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.  For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.’”

I’m a very ordered, methodical person.  I like structure and planning.  I always take the divided highway, well-lit, smooth, defined.  But I have accepted Christ and want to follow Him.  I want to take up my cross daily and follow Christ.

He rarely uses the divided highway.  He is apt to head straight for the narrow mountain road, and He goes way too fast.  All I can do is hold on.  My eyes are closed part of the time, but then I have to open them because it is all so exciting.  He takes me places I would never go on my own, and I am always a little amazed at how we got there.  After we arrive at our destination, I reflect on the incredible journey.  His vision is far superior to mine.  He sees possibilities that I would never envision, and all I can do is wonder.

I used to think of Jesus as my co-pilot.  I was always glad to have Him onboard, but I seldom let Him drive.  There were times in my life when I left on a journey without Him.  That never turned out well.

Having Him drive is incredible!  Scary at times.  Bewildering.  I honestly thought He would wreck my life at times, but He never has.  He has bestowed marvelous gifts on me through people we’ve met on the journey, and He assures me the best is yet to come.

Do I want to start driving again?  No way!  My way is so boring and ordinary.  I want Him to steer my life along the path He has chosen for me.  No looking back.  Just a smile on my face, a gentle breeze blowing the hair out of my eyes and a feeling of utter joy and peace.

Drive on, Master!  Show me the road we will travel today!

Song for the day:  “Wherever He Leads I’ll Go” by Alan Jackson

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvOm3eEokM8

Beautiful imagery.  Relax, unwind and enjoy.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 15:55:56

    Excellent post Connie, so well thought out. God is truly doing a remarkable work in you, blessings my friend,

  2. chemocurls
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 16:16:01

    Thanks, Ellie. I appreciate your nominating me for two awards. I haven’t had time to accept them, and I apologize for that. My life is so hectic now. I am finding it hard to even write. Blessings back to you, my friend.

  3. Holistic Wayfarer
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 23:18:45

    You shared a bit of your journey on my Question of Human Suffering post earlier in the year. I am so glad for the note of triumph in your words. =)

  4. chemocurls
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 08:18:58

    Thanks for your comment on my post. God is so good! May He bless your day.

  5. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 09:04:11

    No worries my friend. Those awards are always meant to be fun and not stressful anyway. I simply wanted to honor you and knowing that you appreciate that is enough for me, 🙂 Blessings,

  6. chemocurls
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 09:08:12

    I am truly honored, Ellie. Thank you so much for following and encouraging what I do. May God bless your day.

