What’s Your Name?


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 1:4-6 “just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved.”

Wow!  I am chosen, adopted, accepted, not because of anything I did or deserved, but by the grace of God.  I am part of a family.  I have brothers and sisters, and we love and care for one another.  I am never alone.

I am accepted in the Beloved because Jesus died on a cross for my sins.  His substitutionary death made it possible for me to be accepted by the Father.  Not only am I accepted, I am made like Christ.

I have a t-shirt that says “I Am A Princess . . .  My Father is King of Kings”.  The shirt makes me smile even if I’m not wearing it.  I can picture it hanging in my closet, and the image makes me happy.

So today when satan hurls his darts of defeat and despair at me I will think of my name.  I will remember that I am part of a family of believers, and I can call on them when I am weak.  They will lift me up in prayer, and that prayer will make a difference in my life.  When satan calls me “worthless”, “failure”, “unworthy” or any negative name, I will remember this Bible verse.  Satan will have to sell his negativity elsewhere today.  I am a princess!  

 The song for the day sums all this up very well.  My favorite verse is:

“I am no longer defined by the wreckage behind

The One who makes all things new

Has proven it’s true

Just take a look at my life”

 

Song for the day:  “Hello, My Name Is” by Matthew West

http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=0F9EB1NU

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Brecheisen
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 14:26:23

    Connie, thank you for this precious devotion today. I really hope you will publish a devotional book one day. I will buy some! Love, Joyce

  2. chemocurls
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 14:49:17

    Thank you, Joyce. This one made me happy! I’ve had the song running through my head all day! No negativity for me today! I’m a princess. You are, too. Love, Connie

