Eating Worms


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 9:9-10  “The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.  Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.”

When I was a child, I played with cousins frequently.  We had a favorite chant that we would repeat and then burst into laughter.  It started:  “Nobody loves me.  Everybody hates me.  I’m going down to the garden to eat worms.”  It was an actual possibility for us because my mother had a huge garden.  None of us ever acted on our silly little rhyme, however.

I had days like that as a child, and I still have them as an adult.  Days when you feel as though no one cares.  You feel you could drop off the face of the earth and no one would notice!  Most of us know better, but we still have “those” days.  Sometimes I simply wake up with a dark cloud hanging over my head.  It wasn’t there when I went to bed.  Where did it come from?  When will it go away?  Sometimes it hangs around all day; sometimes it moves on quickly.  I’m always glad when it leaves and sunshine takes its place.

On those days when I feel no one cares, however, I remember my Jesus.  He cared enough to die on a cross for me.  He loved me then and He loves me now.  He is my hiding place.  I am so grateful for a Savior who loves me unconditionally 24/7.  Period.

Song for the day:  “You Are My Hiding Place”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ElVC6rfX3Z8

What a beautiful video!  This will definitely send the dark clouds packing!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 13:31:43

    Haha! I sure remember that rhyme too.My mom used it a lot on ME.

    Although I guess all we women could technically blame those “cloudy, depressed” days on the devil and man’s fall from grace . . . mine come from changing hormones! Which technically could be blamed on the devil too – so let’s rejoice in Jesus and in a better day coming! Way to pick yourself up my dear friend – and absolutely (!) we would all miss you greatly if you weren’t here! Blessings,

  2. chemocurls
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 13:53:38

    Thanks, Ellie! I just loved that video. Definitely one to remember when “those” days appear. Hormones, smoremones. It’s all good! Hugs in Him

