Awake, Really Awake!


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 39:4  “Show me, Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is.”

Five years ago cancer was ravaging my body, but it didn’t have a name.  I knew I was very sick, and for the first time in my life thought I might die.  I was in bed much of the time, and I was getting sicker every day.  Without divine and medical intervention, I am convinced I would have died.  I felt the number of my days was fast-approaching.  I have never been weaker, less able to function in my life, and I claimed this verse:  2 Corinthians 12:9 “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

God had a different plan.  I finally received a diagnosis, had surgery, chemo and got my life back.  But I didn’t get the same life back that I had before.  I viewed life differently.  Relationships were sweeter.  The love I felt for close friends and family grew deeper, stronger.  I found beautiful friendships that I didn’t know I had, and I lost a few friends I thought were mine forever.  The sunsets and sunrises were more beautiful.  I actually took the time to savor them, appreciate the beauty that was mine to see every day.  The grass was greener, the sky a little bluer, lights a little brighter, aromas a little sweeter, time a little more precious.

I was awake, really awake, for maybe the first time in my life.  No more sleep-walking through life.  Every day was a gift, every month special, every year a blessing.

1 Corinthians 10:31 says:  “Therefore, whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”  That is my goal.  I have good days and bad, but I give them all to God.  He can take even my messes and use them for good.

I am alive in Him!  I live to His glory.

Song for the day:  “In Loving-Kindness Jesus Came”

“From sinking sand He lifted me, with tender hand He lifted me, from shades of night to plains of light, O praise His name, He lifted me!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 14:54:10

    How I praise God that He had a different plan for your life! You have been an inspiration to countless people who are going through challenges. You were tested and came thru as gold! What a fabulous testimony you are for our Lord! Blessings,

  2. Joyce Brecheisen
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 15:04:05

    Connie, thank you for sharing your faith from deep within. It is always an inspiration to me and a reminder to quit whining and complaining about TRIVIAL stuff! You are a very precious sister in Christ!

  3. chemocurls
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 15:18:39

    Thanks so much, Ellie. May He continue to bless you and the work you do!

    Sent from my iPad

  4. chemocurls
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 15:19:47

    Thanks, Joyce. You’re a precious gift to me, also. Hope all is well.

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Debbie
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 15:30:36

    Thanks Connie….I give God praise for getting me through..I am still in treatment but im alive Praise God,

  6. chemocurls
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 15:36:06

    How far along are you in treatment, Debbie? I will pray for you! Just keep your hand in His. Thanks for reading my blog. Hugs, Connie

