Murmurings & Mutterings


Scripture for the day:  Exodus 16:2-3 “Then the whole congregation of the children of Israel complained against Moses and Aaron in the wilderness.  And the children of Israel said to them, ‘Oh, that we had died by the hand of the Lord in the land of Egypt, when we sat by the pots of meat and when we ate bread to the full!  For you have brought us out into this wilderness to kill this whole assembly with hunger.’”

The children of Israel were suffering from short-term memory loss and self-centeredness.  They were complaining, murmuring, and muttering about their plight.  They were forgetting to trust the Lord and walk in faith.

I am so guilty of this!  I often mutter or mumble, mostly to myself, about situations, people in those situations, or my circumstances in general.  I don’t voice my complaints, usually, but they are occupying my mind and spilling over into my life.

I can remember feeling helpless when my kids were upset about a situation that I couldn’t fix.  I could listen, but I didn’t have the power to change anything for them.  Muttering.  Mumbling.  I was always happy when the problem was resolved and the mumbling ceased.

When thoughts of discontent pop into my head this week, I’m going to remember the shed blood of Calvary.  It covers me, and it covers any situation I am facing.  When I murmur and complain, I am really saying I don’t trust God to take care of me.  That isn’t the case at all, but my murmuring makes it seem so.  So when thoughts of discontent come, may I wipe them away with the white cloth of salvation.  May I remember Who controls my life and simply trust and obey.

Song for the day:  “Trust and Obey”

Comments are closed.

