Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month


Ovarian cancer crept into my life undetected.  It simply moved into my body and made a home.  I don’t know how long it had been there before it was diagnosed.  Years, maybe.  It stole life as I knew it.

I was diagnosed almost five years ago, and I am in remission now.  I want to honor women who are still fighting, remember those who have lost their battle, and give other women the tools to recognize this silent killer.  September is National Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month.  Please join me in sharing this information with the women you love.  Maybe together we can save a life.

Here are a few facts:

Ovarian cancer has the highest mortality rate of all gynecological cancers, and is the 5th leading cause of cancer deaths in US women.  Two out of three women diagnosed with ovarian cancer will die, and that hasn’t changed for three decades.

There are no reliable screening tests for ovarian cancer.  A pap smear detects cervical cancer, not ovarian.  CA 125 blood tests and ultrasounds can detect ovarian cancer but usually not when it is Stage I and easily treated.  Most ovarian cancers are Stage III or IV before they are detected.  Stage I ovarian cancer (which I had) has a 94% chance of long-term survival.  However, more than 70% of women aren’t diagnosed until it is Stage III or IV, and only 18 to 45% will live another 5 years.

All women are at risk for ovarian cancer but most women diagnosed are 60 or older.

Ninety percent of ovarian cancers are sporadic — no genetic pre-disposition or family history.  (That was true in my case, and I tested negative for the BRCA gene.)

Ovarian cancer remains underfunded, especially given its high mortality rate.

BEATgraphic 9:1

 

 

September 3 is “Teal Day”.  Please join me in wearing teal that day to help raise awareness of this deadly disease.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Miguel
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:14:06

    Excellent article, thanks for posting!

