He Carries Me


Scripture for the day:  Isaiah 46:4 “Even to your old age, I am He, and even to gray hairs I will carry you!  I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you.”

I love the promise of this scripture.  He will carry me until I die and go to my home in glory.

I can think of so many times in my life when He carried me, but my bout with cancer is probably the most significant.  When I got the diagnosis, I immediately gave it to Him.  I was too sick to care, too scared to worry.  Cancer had brought me to my knees, and God had brought me to the end of myself.  I no longer had any fight in me, but I was filled with surrender.  I surrendered everything to the Lord.

He carried me through diagnosis.  He carried me through surgery, guiding the surgeon’s hand and comforting my family.  He held me close during every chemo treatment, every procedure.  He was always there to comfort me.  Night or day, he was there.  He carried me.

I am in remission now and able to function, but I will never let go of His hand.  I may be able to stand for the moment, but it only because of His grace, His strength, His mercy.

And so I give this day to Him.  I ask Him to guide me around the sand traps of despair and doubt.  With His help, may I guard my words and my thoughts so that I don’t hurt another or make my mind a haven for satan’s evil ploys.  May I be a light in a world of darkness, a ray of hope for someone needing a beam of light to help them find their way.  May I be a reflection of Him in all I say and do today.

Song for the day:  “Carry Me” by Josh Wilson

www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jZmBQn_018

Comments are closed.

