You’re Home!


Scripture for the day:  John 10:10 “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.  I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.  John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”  

Two scriptures about God’s love for me.  There are many more, but I chose these two.  God loves me!  He sent His Son to die on a cross to save me.  He wants me to have abundant life!  Wow.

I’m thinking today about what makes me happy in this life. I remember the joy I felt when my children were born.  I was so happy I thought I might explode!  Then came grandchildren.  All the love I felt for my daughter and my son got multiplied many times over in their children.

I have had a very special relationship with each of my granddaughters.  We have special days together without mom and dad when I just focus on them.  They delight in my attention, and I love our interaction.  On that one day I try to make them feel special.  We have special food that they choose.  We do special things together.  They are the focus of that day.  They beam!  They shine!  They love their special days, and so do I.  My love for them is unconditional, and I show that love by giving them all of me.

There are looks on the face of a child that amaze and delight.  There’s the “Get up!  Get up!  It’s Christmas morning” look.  There’s the “It’s my birthday!  I’m five years old” look.  There’s the “Yum!  Chocolate chip cookies” look.  And the always-wonderful “Mommy!  You’re home” look.

So much love.  Utter joy.  Complete happiness.  I think that is the look I am going to see on Jesus’ face when I get to Heaven.  I think there’s going to be that moment when our eyes meet and He says “My beloved!  You’re home!”  It will be better than all my special days all rolled into one.

The God of the universe loves me.  I am His, and He is mine.  Oh, what a day that will be!

Song for the day:  “Face to Face with Christ, My Savior”

“ . . . face to face in all His glory, I shall see Him by and by!”

Comments are closed.

