Mrs. Glove


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 1: 21 “For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

My pastor gave us a wonderful message yesterday, and I want to share some of it in my blog today.

Paul was writing from prison, and yet you would never know it.  He sums up his life with this Scripture.  For Paul, Jesus was his reason for being, and if he died, he would be better off, for then he could live totally for God.  Oh, to have my walk be that clear, the desires of my heart that pure.

My pastor used a glove to illustrate our lives.  He put an ordinary glove on the podium and told us it had amazing abilities.  However, when he commanded Mr. Glove to “wiggle his fingers” or “wave to the folks” nothing happened.  Hmm.  So my pastor put on the glove and everything was different.  You see, Mr. Glove didn’t have any abilities on his own.  He was totally dependent on the person inside of him!

Philippians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  Without Christ, I am like Mr. Glove, unable to do anything.  I’m ineffective, useless, totally dependent on the One inside of me.  His name is Jesus!  He is the source of my life; He is my strength.  Because of Him, I am able to do what He has called me to accomplish.  I am able to love others only because of Jesus.    I can be a witness for Him, telling others the story of what Christ has done in my life.  I can be salt and light to a sick and dying world.

I am so grateful for Jesus.  I don’t want to be ineffectual like Mr. Glove, and so I depend on the One living inside of me to direct my path.

Song for the day:  “Here I Am” by Downhere

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kN1MvK7Y-iY 

From the song:

I’m a man, of dust and stains,

You move in me, so I can say,

[Chorus:]
Here I am, Lord send me,
All of my life, I make an offering,
Here I am, Lord send me,
Somehow my story, Is a part of your plan,
Here I am

*************

Here I am, Lord.  Mrs. Glove.  Use me.

Comments are closed.

