Yielded and Still


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 28:20 “‘ . . . and, lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’”

Cancer.  Such an ugly word.  It became a part of my life five years ago, and it will never leave me.  I went for my 3-month checkup yesterday, and the appointment went well.  Everyone was kind, as always, and there were no nasty surprises.  I walked in with Jesus, and His presence was made known to me in the lab.  I was talking to the nurse who drew my blood for the CA125.  I told her I was almost five years out from diagnosis, and she congratulated me.  We shared how exciting this milestone was, and I shared my fear that the blood test would reveal a problem.  She just smiled, shook her head, and said, “No, honey.”  I prayed over your blood sample.  Everything is going to be fine.”  Such a sweet moment, tangible comfort from one of His angels that everything was OK.  I always pray when they are drawing my blood, asking God to please let everything be OK.  It was so nice to know that my nurse was lifting the same prayer.  I still don’t have a verbal confirmation that my CA125 level is OK, but I have peace.  God is in control.

Part of me wants to pull very far away from anything to do with cancer.  But I don’t think that is God’s plan for my life.  He gave me this walk for a reason, and I think I am on this path to help those walking beside me, behind me.  I have discovered that I can give another person hope by simply telling my story.  I am a survivor!  I can remember when I was first diagnosed.  I wondered if I would live.  I wondered what life would be like if I did live.  So many questions.  No answers.  I wrote my own book along the way, and now I want to share with those who are just writing the first page.  May God use me to comfort, console, and educate those who are hearing “cancer” for the first time in relation to their life.  And may God get the glory.

Song for the day:  “Have Thine Own Way, Lord”

. . . mold me and make me after Thy will, while I am waiting, yielded and still.

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 11:57:48

    Oh Connie you are such a strong woman! I am so blessed that you can encourage me from afar through your testimony and positive Christian lifestyle. God bless,

  2. chemocurls
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 20:09:35

    Thanks for your support and encouragement, Ellie! You bless me just by being you! Hugs, my friend, and God bless.

  3. Ajaytao2010
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 05:03:05

    I Nominate you for a Super Bunch of Awards – 30 Nominations
    please choose any 3 awards out of the 30
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/super-bunch-of-awards-30-nomination/

