Jesus, Jesus, Jesus


Scripture for the day:  Deuteronomy 30:15-16 “See, I have set before you today life and good, death and evil, in that I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk in His ways, and to keep His commandments, His statutes, and His judgments, that you may live and multiply, and the Lord your God will bless you in the land which you go to possess.”  Deuteronomy 30:19 “I call heaven and earth as witnesses today against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing; therefore choose life, that both you and your descendants may live;”

I go to the oncologist tomorrow.  It is something I have done every three months for almost five years now.  It should be very routine by now, but I am still anxious every time.

I visited with a friend yesterday who had ovarian cancer and was in remission.  She found out a few months ago that she has two spots on her lungs and two spots on her kidneys, all metastatic ovarian cancer.  She is back in treatment.  As I listened to her story yesterday, it was hard not to jump into the black hole of tomorrow and see myself sitting in a recliner with poison dripping into my body . . . again.

BUT WHY?  Why would I want to go there?  As this scripture says, I have a choice between life and death, blessing and cursing.  I belong to Jesus.  He paid with His life to give me access to the throne of grace.  Why would I want to dissolve in worry and grief over something that may never happen?  Satan would love that.  I would be weak, ineffective, afraid.  My witness would be nil.  I would be silenced.

I choose LIFE.  I choose BLESSING.  I choose JESUS.  So today when nagging thoughts about tomorrow’s tests come into my mind I will simply say “I choose Jesus”.  I will walk triumphantly into the cancer clinic confident in the One holding my hand.  I pray my tumor marker will be down, but I will be OK either way.

I choose Jesus.

Song for the day:  “He Keeps Me Singing”

“Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, sweetest name I know, fills my every longing, keeps me singing as I go.”

This will be my song tomorrow, and I will not be afraid.

 

Comments are closed.

