A Gathering of Grands


Scripture for the day:  Luke 15:4-7 “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he loses one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness, and go after the one which is lost until he finds it.  And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing.  And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep which was lost!’ I say to you that likewise there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine just persons who need no repentance.”

We had a “gathering of grands” on Saturday.  Well, okay, adults were here, too, but I always focus on little people and animals.  It’s just the way I am, but I digress.  I delighted in watching my 17-year-old and my 5-year-old swing.  The chatter was constant, with giggles thrown about like confetti.  Their imaginations were soaring as high as their swings, and I heard aliens were somehow involved.  I delighted in having them here, roaming through my house and around my yard at will.  My 13-year-old granddaughter arrived with her parents a little later, and we took up where we left off last week with laughter and easy banter.  We joked and teased each other, and added another great page to our memory book.

It was a wonderful day, but something was missing.  My oldest granddaughter has gone to college, and so she wasn’t with us.  A “first”, but not one I am real wild about.  She isn’t “lost” like the sheep in the parable.  I knew where she was, and I knew she was fine.  But I missed her!  My flock was minus one, and the little spot in my heart that only she can fill was empty.  I sent her a text telling her I missed her, and I know I will see her soon.  She just wasn’t a part of our day, and it felt wrong.

It made me think of this parable about the lost sheep and how God must feel when one of his flock is not there.  I once walked away from God’s flock, and I know there was rejoicing when I returned.  I felt His tender embrace, welcoming me home again, loving me more than I can comprehend.

May I feel sad today for just one lost sheep.  May I weep with Jesus over that one lost soul.  May I share Christ or just be an example of Jesus to another person so that maybe they will turn from their sin and accept Him.

I know I will see my granddaughter again soon.  I also know I will have her in heaven with me one day.  But I have other family members who are not saved.  May I be in prayer for them today.

Song for the day:  “Reach” by Peter Furler

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsV_9088CEc

I love this song!  He reaches for me!  So many people in this world, but He calls my name.  I’ll never be the same!

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 14:37:02

    Well this couldn’t happen on a ‘sweeter’ day then! Congratulations Connie, I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. You can check out the simple rules for this one on my webpage today. Blessings,

  2. Howard Brecheisen
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 15:57:19

    Connie, this is awe-inspiring and so happy for your “precious moments”.  I pray your granddaughter has a wonderful first year of college and has several good Christian friends to hang out with.  Love, Joyce

    ________________________________

  3. chemocurls
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:01:24

    She went to church Sunday, Joyce. Didn’t like it, so will try another church next week. Very positive sign! Classes start today. It’s a very big step toward independence, and I’m happy for her. She’s a sweet girl, and I’m very proud of her. Thanks for your kind comments. Love, Connie

