The Blessings of Relationship


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 2:18 “For through Him we both have access by one Spirit to the Father.”

Relationship is defined as a condition or fact of being related by blood or marriage; kinship; a binding of parties. To me a relationship goes much deeper than this definition.  It involves a closeness established through time, a desire to know someone intimately.

My relationship to my Father is made possible by the substitutionary death by His Son.  When I accepted Christ as my Savior, I was immediately given access to God.  No middleman is required.  I can come before His throne of grace at any time and make petition, offer praise or just sit quietly.  What a gift I was given!  God wants a relationship with me.  He wants me to study His word, spend time in prayer and meditation.  What He wants and what I need is quiet alone-time with Him.  It draws me closer to Him, and our relationship grows stronger.

I am very thankful for the many relationships I have on this earth.  I have a loving family and many friends, some who are like family to me.  I treasure those relationships and love spending time with all of them. This past week I spent time with three of my beautiful granddaughters, and another one is coming tomorrow.  I have been involved in their lives, spending time with them and developing a relationship.  Because of that they know me.  I am not just a person who sends a birthday and a Christmas card.  I am someone who bakes yummy desserts, feeds them nutritious food, takes them shopping and makes them laugh.

But the thing that makes all my earthly relationships work is the relationship I have with Jesus.  Because He saved me, because He loves me, I can develop relationships on this earth.  I am very thankful.

Song for the day:  “In the Garden”

“And He walks with me, and He talks with me, and He tells me I am His own, and the joy we share as we tarry there, none other has ever known.”  Relationship!

 

Comments are closed.

