Remembering Billie


Scripture for the day: John 14:1-2 “‘Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.  In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you.  I go to prepare a place for you.”

A dear friend left this earth last week to go to her heavenly home.  She is in a mansion now, whole, free from pain and suffering, living in the forever with Jesus.  There will be a celebration service today for friends and family to gather to remember Billie.  It will be a sweet time of remembrance and fellowship, but there will also be a sadness in the loss of someone special.

I saw Jesus in Billie.  She was sweet, always ready to help a friend or stranger.  She was loving and kind, and she had the voice of an angel.  I pause today to thank my God for the privilege of knowing Billie for a little while.

I will remember the special music she sang for us in church.  The last time Billie sang it was hard for her to walk, but she raised her voice to Him.  In the process, she raised all who heard her to the Father.  I will remember her sweet smile and I will miss seeing her in church on Sunday.  I will miss her smiles and her hugs.  Billie was one to give of herself to others.  She acted out of love, never wanting or expecting anything in return.  The last thing Billie wanted was praise or recognition.

There will be many today who will share a story about Billie and what she meant to them.  There will be smiles, hugs, tears and lots of love.  Billie was all about love.  Billie was all about Jesus.  Billie will live on in the hearts of many, and we will be reunited some day.

Song for the day:  “Let Others See Jesus in You”

“Then live for Christ both day and night, be faithful, be brave, and true, and lead the lost to life and light.  Let others see Jesus in you.”

Billie lived for Christ.  She was life and light to those around her.  I saw Jesus in Billie, and now Billie is home with Him.  I praise Him for His faithfulness and for His promises.

1 Corinthians 15:58 “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain.”

Billie did not labor in vain.  She has gone home to glory.  Thank you, Jesus.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ajaytao2010
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 20:41:59

    I Nominate you for A Bunch of Awards – 13 Nominations

    please choose any 3 awards out of the 13
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-bunch-of-awards-13-nominations/

