Taking Up My Cross . . . Daily


Scripture for the day:  Luke 9:23 “Then He said to them all, ‘If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.’”

I read a very powerful message yesterday about the price that was paid for me at Calvary.  1 Corinthians 6:20 says “For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

I am feeling the full weight of this scripture today, and my desire is to take up my cross and follow my Lord.  The hard part is to deny self.  There’s always that little “me first” voice in my head, demanding things be done my way, not God’s way.

May I strive to live just today remembering the price that was paid for me.  May I remember that my life doesn’t belong to me.  It belongs to Christ.  For just a few minutes, may I reflect on what that means and then carry it with me as I go about my day.  May I deny self and seek to glorify God.

Song for the day:  “Jesus, I My Cross Have Taken”

www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlpKOJfkveM

“Jesus, I my cross have taken, all to leave, and follow Thee;

Destitute, despised, forsaken, Thou, from hence, my all shall be;

Perish every fond ambition, all I’ve sought or hoped or known;

Yet how rich is my condition:  God and heav’n are still my own!”

Let the word despise and leave me, They have left my Savior, too;

Human hearts and looks deceive me, Thou art not, like man, untrue;

And, while Thou shalt smile upon me, God of wisdom, love, and might,

Foes may hate, and friends may shun me:  Show Thy face, and all is bright.

Haste thee on from grace to glory, armed by faith, and winged by prayer;

Heav’n’s eternal days before thee, God’s own hand shall guide thee there;

Soon shall close thy earthly mission, swift shall pass thy pilgrim days;

Hope shall change to glad fruition, faith to sight, and prayer to praise.”

 

What a beautiful hymn of praise and dedication!  It is my song for today.

Comments are closed.

