Every Day With Jesus



Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”

fr_154

Saturday was a time of celebration for our family.  My mother-in-law turned 98, and four generations gathered to honor her.  We ranged in age from 5 to 98, and it was a joyous time.

I have been struggling with her plight, and visiting her makes me sad.  But I came away with a different perspective after Saturday.  When we arrived, Lillie was in the dining room sitting at a table with three other ladies.  She didn’t see us, so she was just interacting with those around her.  She reached over to touch the hand of another lady, and they were laughing about something.  It was wonderful to see her interacting, reaching out to another person to share a moment in time.

Lillie loved her party, and she wants to live to be 100!  She was so touched that tears came at times, and she must have thanked us a hundred times for coming.  There were no gifts wrapped in pretty paper.  We brought her the gift of family, of shared memories, of a deep and abiding love that spans four generations.  We had cookies and ice cream, and Lillie tipped her cup to drain the last drop of Blue Bell onto her spoon.  Ice cream makes Lillie happy!  All the ladies painted our fingernails, and we laughed and enjoyed the moment.  When it came time to leave, her great granddaughters, ages 5 and 7, pushed her down the hall to her room.  There were hugs, kisses, and “I love you’s” thrown around like confetti, and Lillie was happy.

Lillie knows Jesus.  She has had a long, sweet relationship with Him.  She can no longer read her Bible, hear hymns being sung or sermons preached, but I am convinced she still has Jesus.  She is in a wheelchair, unable to do the simplest thing for herself, but she still has Jesus.

And so I want to be like Lillie.  I want to embrace whatever I call life until the end.  I want to smile, be thankful, and reach out to touch another.  But most of all I want Jesus, deep inside of me where age can’t come.  I want to live each day on earth with Him because I know one day He’ll take me home.  Just like Lillie.

Song for the day:  “Everyday with Jesus” 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Befir7QVYXk

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Unshakable Hope
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 09:06:46

    “She is in a wheelchair, unable to do the simplest thing for herself, but she still has Jesus.”
    I liked this line! You are blessed with a wonderful family, Connie!

  2. chemocurls
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 12:38:09

    Yes, I am, Bill, and it sounds as though you are, too! May He bless your day.

  3. Unshakable Hope
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 12:47:08

    Yes, Connie, I am blessed with a great family – our first grandchild is due in November!

  4. chemocurls
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 12:54:55

    Congratulations, Bill. Grandkids are such a delight. Ours range in age from 19 to 5, all girls. It will add a whole new dimension to life, and it keeps you young! I am especially enjoying my 5-year-old because she lives close to me. It is so much fun to spend time with her. I tell her she is my sunshine, and I know you will feel the same way. Do you know if it is a boy or a girl? Either one will be wonderful. Something to look forward to!

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Unshakable Hope
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 13:07:10

    It’s a boy!

