God of Peace


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 4: 8-9 “Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.  The things which you learned and received and heard are saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.”

I need this scripture with me today, tonight and tomorrow.  I have been allowing worry and doubt to come into my mind, and they have shoved the God of peace aside.  I not only invited them in, I offered them an easy chair.  I might have even considered making them comfortable with a cup of tea and a sugar cookie.  But then I realized they were not of God.  They are thieves, robbing me of His joy, His peace.

If someone showed up at my door with the intention of robbing or harming me, I would lock all the doors and run to hide.  Why do I not recognize simple thoughts as thieves?  Why do I allow them access to my mind?  I have a choice, and I have been making bad choices lately.

New day.  New perspective.  May the Holy Spirit give a little “ahem” today whenever a scary thought tries to enter my mind.  May I remember this scripture and the price that was paid for me on the cross.  May I focus on the true, the honest, the just, the pure, the lovely today.  Beauty is all around me in the faces I see, the birds that fly around my yard, the flowers, the gentle rain in July.  And Jesus is holding my hand.

Depression, despair, fear — not today.  No easy chair for you in my mind today.  I am claiming this scripture and the precious name of Jesus.

Song for the day:  “Here I Am To Worship” by Chris Tomlin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FaUTv1pXRyU

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 11:02:27

    What excellent insight Connie! Great illustration and it was said with such humor and truth – I saw myself in this as well. Thank you for calming my heart today and letting God direct my paths. As always, a great blog, blessings,

  2. chemocurls
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 13:26:02

    Thanks, Ellie. This age thing has really got me upset. WHY? God has always been by my side. Why should 70, 80 or 90 be any different? Satan has been using me to paint by the numbers. I’m tired of being his canvas. I’m a child of the King. I don’t have to be tormented by satan. It is a choice. I choose Jesus.

  3. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 16:40:36

    Amen, you Great Woman of God, Amen! 1 John 4:4

  4. Unshakable Hope
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 17:11:30

    That’s good, Connie!

