Children, Yours and Mine


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 127:3 “Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.”

I love children.  Mine.  Those who belong to others.  They are all precious to me. My church handed out bookmarks one Mother’s Day that read:  “A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was or what sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove; but the world may be a little better because I was important in the life of a child.”

I have spent a good deal of my time affecting the lives of children.  I raised two of my own and did OK, mostly.  God was always there to pick up the pieces, fill in the blanks, or grab an eraser.  Since my two children are grown and on their own, God has blessed me with grandchildren.  I cherish the time spent with them!  They are all so different, and it has been fun to see their personalities unfold over the years.  One is heading off to college in the fall and the youngest is starting kindergarten.  I have been an active participant in their lives, and I pray I have made a difference.  I know they have made a difference in my life.

I have been Vacation Bible School director at my church for almost 30 years.  I was fortunate enough to have adults spend time with me when I was a child and tell me about Jesus.  It has had a lasting impact on my life.  I wanted to pay it forward, and VBS seemed the perfect way to share the gift I had been given.

I pray for my children and grandchildren today.  May God watch over them, guide them, and protect them.  I thank Him for the time He has given me to watch them grow.  I know Heaven is going to be a glorious place, but I treasure the time I have had on earth because of the children He has given me.  May He watch over all His little ones today and may those responsible for them on earth be guided to love, nurture and protect.

Song for the day:  “Jesus Loves the Little Children”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xyx3WaqhZZg 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 15:16:29

    Wow, I bet you are an amazing Bible teacher and Director as well as an inspiration to those children! I am concerned as well about the world these children of ours are going to grow up in! Our value system is depleting as we speak! It’s more important than ever to show each child the way of salvation, isn’t it? Blessings and I’m sure you get your energy from being around young people!

  2. chemocurls
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 15:33:02

    When I accepted the position as VBS director, I felt totally unprepared. And I was. I learned early-on to simply give it to God. It has always been so amazing to watch Him work with whatever was available. Short on teachers? He would provide. Short on money? Someone would donate. Through the years, it has been such a blessing in my life. I have received far more than I have given. It’s also nice to have young people in church now who are raising a family and sending their kids to VBS. Am I old or what?????? Blessings, Ellie.

