Heart Friends


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 17:17 “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

I am blessed with lots of friends.  They range from acquaintances to those who are like family.  In my many years on this earth I have made and lost friends.  Some have been lost because of a move, some because of a change of lifestyle, some because of neglect.  Whatever the reason, friends seem to come and go in my life.  Unlike family, we can choose our friends, and that makes a difference.

I am thinking today about my heart friends.  They are the ones who love me warts and all.  Much like the sunrise, I can count on them to appear.  Friends used to be those we encountered along our narrow pathway of life.  Today friends can be miles away, known only to us by an online address.  We connect through Facebook, email, and text messages.  It is very different from chatting with a neighbor across the back fence, but the connection can be as real.

I thank my God for all the special women He has placed in my life at just the right moment.  Definitely divine intervention.  We have come together because of a shared concern or need, but our lives have become so intertwined that we forget where it all began.  Those are the friends I am especially grateful for today.  They share my joys, my sorrows, my ups and downs.  They are stable, constant, forever, and I thank my God for them.

My best friend, however, is Jesus.  He is always there.  He never sleeps nor slumbers.  He is mine, and I am His.  Forever.

Song for the day:  “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTl0svRr0tQ

This is one of my favorite songs.  It reminds me of all my friends who have lifted me to Jesus in good times and bad.  They are so special because we have a mutual friend:  Jesus.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. In Her Words Avenue
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 07:15:00

    Great Post, amazing song! I once was able to see Josh Groban in concert, and what a amazing and powerful song to get closer to God

