Yielded and Still


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 15:21-27 “Then Jesus went out from there and departed to the region of Tyre and Sidon.  And behold, a woman of Canaan came from that region and cried out to Him, saying, ‘Have mercy on me, O Lord, Son of David!  My daughter is severely demon-possessed.’  But He answered her not a word.  And His disciples came and urged Him, saying, ‘Send her away, for she cries out after us.’ But He answered and said, ‘I was not sent except to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.’  Then she came and worshiped Him, saying, ‘Lord, help me!’ But He answered and said, ‘It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the little dogs.’ And she said, ‘Yes, Lord, yet even the little dogs eat the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.’”

My pastor often says he is merely a paper boy delivering the morning’s news.  I am very blessed that he is so devoted to his calling.  His messages always touch my heart and make me want to do better, work harder, be more like Jesus.  This Sunday was no exception.

He talked about how we are to walk in the Spirit and be controlled by the Spirit of God.  Tests will come.  Will we be faithful or become discouraged and quit?

Then he talked about this woman who came to Jesus pleading for Him to heal her demon-possessed daughter.  A casual reading of this Scripture might leave the impression that Jesus was uncaring or harsh in His response to the woman.  My pastor explained that Jesus was merely giving her a platform for her faith, trying to draw an expression of that faith from her.

How many times have I been given a platform but not recognized what I was seeing?  How many times have I become discouraged and simply quit?  Too many times to count.

God allowed cancer in my life for a reason.  Through that struggle I had many hours to simply be still and think about my God.  I came to see that He loved me enough to give me a voice.  I, too, had a strong faith and a means of expression.

I love words.  I love writing, whether it be notes to a friend, a journal or a blog.  God has given me a platform to use my words, and so I write for Him.  It doesn’t matter whether anyone reads my words or not.  I feel called to write.  If God chooses to use my words to touch a life, so be it.  My job is simply to write.

So today I grab hold of God.  I refuse to let go of Him because I want His blessing.  I will use my words for His glory.  May they find a soul who is struggling today with discouragement or disbelief and lift that person up to Him.  If not today, perhaps tomorrow or the next day.  I will simply write.

Song for the day:  “Have Thine Own Way, Lord”

“Mold me and make me after Thy will, while I am waiting, yielded and still.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Brecheisen
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 15:07:41

    Connie, you are a gifted writer and I am so happy that you are using that God-given talent for the Lord! Your words of inspiration and encouragement mean so much to me, and i’m sure to countless others. You are a blessings, dear friend!

  2. chemocurls
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 16:10:16

    Thanks so much, Joyce. That’s my prayer. Hope you & Howard are doing well & staying cool.

