Press On!


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 3:12-14 “Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.  Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Attaining any goal takes commitment, perseverance, dedication, resolve and stamina.  Too many times we start something, fired up and ready to go.  Long before we reach the finish line, however, we give up.  We are either discouraged or distracted and we simply quit.

I always feel better when I accomplish my goals.  There is a sense of satisfaction for completing the task, and there is a reward.  It helps, too, not to focus on past failures, but to continually look forward to the goal.

The most important goal for any Christian is to be like Christ.  It is to loom constantly before us, challenging us to work each day to get a little closer to the goal.  It is not easy, but the rewards are tremendous. There’s also a little cheerleader inside of me that is encouraging me, challenging me, even praising me at times.

This is one race that I will pursue daily.  I will not give up, give in or give out.  I cannot imagine the joy at the finish line!  Now that will be something to celebrate!

Song for the day:  “I Am Resolved”

“I am resolved no longer to linger, charmed by the world’s delight; things that are higher, things that are nobler, these have allured my sight.  I will hasten to Him, hasten so glad and free, Jesus, greatest, highest, I will come to Thee.”

 

Comments are closed.

