The Always and Forever of “I Do”


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 19:4-6 “And He answered and said to them, ‘Have you not read that He who made them at the beginning made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.’  So then they are no longer two but one flesh.  Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separate.”

Today is my daughter and son-in-law’s wedding anniversary.  I started my day thinking about them, praying for them.  I sent my daughter an email of remembrance, and she responded by thanking us for being a wonderful example of marriage.  Well, I wasn’t ready to go there!  But her comment started a thought process that needs expression.  Thanks for the inspiration, daughter ‘o mine!

God must have a sense of humor because he made us different from the beginning.  Men and women aren’t just different physically, we don’t think alike.  This is evident from the first week of marriage.  Most couples compound that problem by marrying someone who is completely different from them, the old “opposites-attract” adage.  That is certainly the case in my marriage.  I understand why I chose my husband, but I often wonder what he saw in me!  Maybe it was my mini skirts and boots, bouffant hairstyle, my winning smile and great sense of humor!  Ahem.  I chose him for his intellect, his compassion, his calm, gentle demeanor.  Truth be told, he reminded me of my daddy in many ways, and that was a very good thing.

What attracted me to him has also caused problems.  I still appreciate his great intellect, but sometimes he can “think” something to death!  His love and compassion are still of tremendous value, and I will never grow tired of those traits in him.  He is so calm at times that it makes me want to scream.  It is one of those differences that I value most of the time and find quite annoying at others.

What I have found over the years is that we agree on the big things.  I’m sure we knew that going into the relationship, but it has been a blessing through the years.  The things we disagree on are the petty, mundane, everyday circumstances or situations, and they can become overblown in importance.  When that happens, I usually try to step back and think what life would be like without my husband.  I have used that tactic many times over the years, and it has always worked for me.  He is still alive and unscathed, mostly.

The bottom line for me is my husband is my best friend.  I value his opinion, seek his guidance, appreciate his input on anything that comes my way.  The love I felt for him in the beginning has grown so deep, so profound, so beautiful that it is hard to imagine.  I’m sure I take his love for granted at times, but I also treasure his feelings for me.  I can’t imagine my life without him.

So I am thanking God today for the wonderful man I married.  I am so grateful for his provision, his care, his love and compassion every minute of every day.  I can’t imagine a day without him in my life, and I know he feels the same way.  Cancer almost took me from him, and I saw how deeply wounded he was, how scared he was that he would lose me.  I’ve never faced the possibility of losing my mate, but I can’t even stand the thought.  God brought us together and only death will separate us.  May God bless and keep this man as we live the “I Do” commitment we made so many years ago .

Song for the day:  “The Wedding Song”

He is now to be among you at the calling of your hearts

Rest assured this troubadour is acting on His part.

The union of your spirits, here, has caused Him to remain

For whenever two or more of you are gathered in His name

There is Love, there is Love.

Well a man shall leave his mother and a woman leave her home

They shall travel on to where the two shall be as one.

As it was in the beginning is now and til the end

Woman draws her life from man and gives it back again.

And there is Love, there is Love.

Well then what’s to be the reason for becoming man and wife?

Is it love that brings you here or love that brings you life?

For if loving is the answer, then who’s the giving for?

Do you believe in something that you’ve never seen before?

Oh there is Love, there is Love.

Oh the marriage of your spirits here has caused Him to remain

For whenever two or more of you are gathered in His name

There is Love, there is Love.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ajaytao2010
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:10:49

    I Nominate you for Bouquet of Super Awards – 27 Nominations

    please choose any 2 awards out of the 27
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/bouquet-of-super-awards-27-nominations/

  2. chemocurls
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:16:54

    Thank you so much for the nomination. I am humbled. I will decide which two to accept. Your blog is wonderful and I look forward to your posts every day. Thanks again, Ajay.

  3. Ajaytao2010
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 15:35:55

    thank you so much dear

