Living in the “Now” of Life


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 130:1 Out of the depths I have cried to You, O Lord; Lord, hear my voice! Let Your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.”

Father’s Day is always hard for me, and this year was no exception. I was an overflowing bucket of emotion.  The day started with memories of my daddy.  I took a picture of his picture with my iPhone and spent several moments just staring at the his face.  I could feel his soft brown, wavy hair, smell his after-shave, gaze into his big brown eyes and get lost in his sweet expression.  But I couldn’t hug him, tell him I loved him, give him a smile or share a laugh.  No need to dwell there.

Then I was reminded of all of those who are undergoing cancer treatment.  I thought of my friend who is facing yet another round of chemo and all of those just like her, sitting in a recliner with poison dripping into their bodies.  No need to stay there, either.

I was reminded of my mother’s last days on earth as Alzheimer’s finally took her from me.  A friend at church is facing those trying days with her husband, and my heart just broke for her.

I finally decided I had walked far enough down memory lane.  God heard my cries but wanted me to move on.  It was time to celebrate the living!  I prepared a special meal for my husband and son.  I laughed, joked and played with my granddaughter.

It was OK to remember but I had work to do.  God wanted me to be His voice, His smile, His spirit to those around me.  That bucket of tears was pushed aside to make room for a boatload of joy!  I am alive in Christ, and I have good news to share.

Song for the day:  “Whosoever Will”

Tell the joyful news!  “‘Tis a loving Father calls the wand’rer home: ‘Whosoever will may come.’”

 

Comments are closed.

