A Place of Quiet Rest


Scripture for the day:  2 Timothy 3:16-17  “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

The Bible is amazing to me.  The Scriptures change meaning according to my need at the time.  A familiar verse will suddenly take on a whole new meaning.  The verse hasn’t changed; my understanding has changed.  I am so grateful for the Bible, and my prayer today is that I will read it more often.  Unless I read God’s Word, how will I know when I have sinned, moved away from God, or failed to see His blessing?  How can I help others if I’m not familiar with the handbook?  My prayer is that I will hunger for Your Word enough to sit down with You and read, converse, listen.

Song for the day:  “Near to the Heart of God”

“There is a place of quiet rest, near to the heart of God, a place where sin cannot molest, near to the heart of God.  O Jesus, blest Redeemer, sent from the heart of God, hold us who wait before Thee near to the heart of God.”

A place of quiet rest.  That is what I desire today.  Bible open, eyes open to Your possibilities, ears perked to listen, but quiet in my soul.

 

Comments are closed.

