More of Jesus


Scripture for the day:  2 Kings 2:9 “And so it was, when they had crossed over, that Elijah said to Elisha, ‘Ask!  What may I do for you, before I am taken away from you?’ Elisha said, ‘Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.’”

When we were having severe storms a few weeks ago, I actually gathered a few things one evening just in case.  It was funny what I gathered.  It was definitely high-tech and very low tech.  I packed my laptop, iPhone, a few toiletries, socks and underwear.  I realized that my techie things had most of my important information on them plus photos.  I considered all the stuff in my house and decided it didn’t matter.  It could either be replaced or not.  If I had my husband and some important documents, I would be OK.

My pastor posed the question Sunday:  If God offered you anything, what would you want?

Wealth – No.  God has provided everything I need and more.

Good health – tempting, but no thank you. God will sustain me if poor health rears its ugly head again.

Fame – oh my.  No thank you, Lord.

I found myself feeling like Elisha.  I want a double portion of the peace that passes understanding.  I want more grace to improve daily relationships.  I want more of HIM.

Our pastor said even God can’t fill that which is already full.  I realized I need to empty some of my vessels so that God can fill them.  I want less of the world and more of Him, so I need to make room for His love, His grace, His peace.

The special mom I wrote about yesterday has become my new walking partner down the path of life.  We have made a commitment to encourage each other but also hold each other accountable.  I want a double portion, and I am counting on my new friend to help me reach my goals.

Song for the day:  “A Little More of Jesus” by Chris August

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/chrisaugust/alittlemorejesus.html

 

Comments are closed.

