A Special Mom


Scripture for the day:For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

Vacation Bible School is for kids, right?  Planting seeds, nourishing little seedlings, learning Bible verses, playing games, singing songs about Jesus.  It’s a fun week devoted to telling kids about Jesus.  I was asked to be VBS director at my church in 1984, and I said yes.  I felt very unprepared, and I was.  But God called me, and He was faithful to equip me.  It has become a very special calling for me.

I learned early on to give VBS to God.  Our little church didn’t have the resources or the workers to do anything grand, but our hearts were always in the right place.  Every year I was amazed at what God made of our efforts.  His plans were always much different from mine, and it was a great lesson in trusting Him.  I have learned to just sit back and watch Him work.  This year was no exception.  Our state had been plagued by severe storms for two weeks, so I prayed for good weather.  I also prayed for good health, great fun and most of all glory to God.  All my prayers were answered.  But God wasn’t through.

We were blessed this year with mothers who decided to stay and work in VBS instead of just dropping their kids off.  They filled voids as needed and were a real blessing.  One mom in particular came all week.  She even came two nights when her kids were not in VBS.  It seemed only fitting that she join us in church on Sunday, so I invited her on Facebook.  She agreed to come.  No big deal, really.  But God had other plans.

Our pastor presented a powerful sermon and gave an invitation at the end.  The whole congregation was standing, eyes closed, heads bowed, praying, feeling the Spirit in our midst.  Suddenly I felt a hand on my shoulder.  Then arms around me, head bowed on my shoulder.  Words spoken softly, thanking me for the week, thanking me for the invitation to come to church.  Suddenly the room fell away, and it was just me and my friend.  We went forward and knelt at the altar, praying, crying, worshiping our God.

I felt different when I left church than I did when I arrived, and I’m sure my friend did, too.  We were strangers, really, when the service began.  Just two women worshipping together.  But God had other plans.  He brought us both to a place of beautiful surrender and peace.  He opened a door for us, and I am very excited to see where it will lead.  He has plans for us:  plans to give us hope and a future.  Part of our hope, our future rests with each other now.  Where will we go?  What will we do with our newfound friendship.  God brought us together for a reason.  I can only imagine the possibilities.

So I will remember VBS 2013 as a wonderful time of teaching, learning, worshiping Jesus.  But I will also remember the Sunday after VBS when God placed a very special mom in my arms and in my heart.  I thank Him for His beautiful plan.

Song for the day: “Why Do I Sing About Jesus”

“Why do I sing about Jesus?  Why is He precious to me?  He is my Lord and my Savior; dying, He set me free!”

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jun 10, 2013 @ 16:16:42

    Praise God Connie – another friend to meet in heaven! How wonderful!! Thank you for being so openly used by God to assist others. Blessings,

