Moore, OK


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 28:20 “and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I live in Oklahoma.  I was born here and have lived here for most of my life.  Tragedy struck my state last week, and it saddened me tremendously.  I didn’t like the “feel” of the atmosphere last Monday.  The air was very thick with moisture, oppressive, heavy: a day ripe for storms.  When I heard thunder south of us, I decided to turn on the television.  It was just slightly before 3:00 p.m., and the station was showing video of a monster tornado heading directly for Moore, OK.  I knew it was going to be bad, and so I just started praying that God would be with them.

My prayer was answered.  God was there in the midst of the terror, holding, comforting, caring.  I heard one account of a teacher telling her students to sing “Jesus Loves Me” for as long as they could hear her voice.  When they could no longer hear her, they were to start screaming.  I can only imagine the terror, but they all survived.  Scars will remain, but God was with them.

Several towns in Oklahoma were affected by severe weather last week.  Lives were changed, some lives were lost.  Please join me in praying for those affected.  This is going to be a difficult time, but Okies are strong.  If we abide with Him, God is with us, always.

Song for the day:  “Never Once” by Matt Redman

www.youtube.com/watch?v=722zPX1npcA

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IAmFashioned
    May 28, 2013 @ 08:26:39

    God bless you! OK is one strong state – God created the people of OK to have a strong foundation, which resonates across the country. I have a co-worker who lost a young cousin at Plaza Towers Elem. It was very devastating and heartbreaking, but it’s amazing how many lives this young boy touched at just 8 years old. In spite of tragedy, God remains triumphant – He still receives the glory!

  2. storyad
    May 29, 2013 @ 16:24:35

    Stopped by because of Ellie’s posts. I ended up staying an hour…your site is so beautifully written!

  3. chemocurls
    May 30, 2013 @ 19:16:38

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Oklahoma has continued to be plagued by severe weather, and so my internet connection has been spotty. On top of that, a fiberoptic cable was cut this morning, so I was w/o phone or internet today. I’ve decided I’m too techie! At least I had my granddaughter part of the day and a good book to fall back on. I will check out your site. Maybe we can help each other as sisters in Christ. Connie

  4. chemocurls
    May 30, 2013 @ 19:20:48

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Severe weather continues to plague Oklahoma. We had 4.8″ of rain overnight and another 1.2″ today in our area. I guess we are pretty much out of the drought! Since the tornadoes, our state has received so much love and support from across the nation. It has been very heartwarming to see, and I know it helps those affected. God can use anything for His glory, and I pray lives will be changed. I appreciate your reading my post. God bless.

