(Happy) Mother’s Day


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 1:3 “I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.”

My prayer today is for mothers who have lost children.  I have never felt their pain, but I saw it in the eyes of my mother.

Mother carried a baby to term and the doctor broke the baby’s neck in the delivery.  All of the plans and dreams my parents had for their sweet baby girl were simply gone.  Mother carried the pain of that day for the rest of her life.  She made a doll and kept it on her bed.  I never knew the significance of that doll to Mother.  She told me toward the end of her life that the face and hair on that doll reminded her of Charlsie Diane.  Such pain.  Such grief.  A tear on my mother’s face that could not be wiped away.

I pray for the mothers who lost children at Sandy Hook and all the other senseless tragedies that occur daily in our world.  Their tears will flow for a long time.  Their grief will consume them at times.  I pray that it does not destroy them.  May they rise above the anger and bitterness and simply remember all the good times.  May they feel their child looking down on them from above, still loving them, still so much a part of them this Mother’s Day.

Some mothers have lost a child through illness, an accident or suicide.  I lift them up in prayer today.  May sweet memories fill their hearts on Sunday.

I had two beautiful babies.  A daughter and a son.  They have filled my life with so much joy, so much love, so much laughter.  I don’t know if I will see either one of them Sunday, but they will call.  They will love me, remember me and we will have many more beautiful days together.  I will cherish both of them this Sunday.  This mother’s heart will overflow with joy, pride and love at the thought of them.

I won’t forget the pain that some will feel this Sunday, but I will celebrate the love I share with my daughter and my son.  I thank my God for them.

Mother’s Day will be sad for some, happy for others.  I pray God’s blessings on all mothers this Sunday.  May He grant them joy, peace, and love if those things are possible.  If not, may He simply give them the grace to face the day.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

Song for the day:  “It Is Well With My Soul”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8_EfDqF7YI

Comments are closed.

