Mothers Matter


Scripture for the day:  Exodus 20:12 “Honor your father and your mother so that you may live long in the land Lord your God is giving you.”

I grew up with this commandment.  I had godly women in my life.  They were kind, loving, patient, easy to honor and love.  The same was true with my friends.  We were all blessed with loving mothers.  When I was in high school, however, I learned that not everyone was as fortunate as I was.  I had a friend whose parents were abusive.  I could hear his mother yelling obscenities at him in the background when we talked on the phone.  His father would beat him for even the smallest infraction.  My friend is in prison because he murdered someone.  Where would he be today if he had been blessed with a loving mother?  Ephesians 6:4 comes to mind and could apply to both mothers and fathers.

With Mother’s Day approaching, I’m thinking of those women who were not the kind of mother God envisioned.  Whether it was because of drugs, lifestyle choices, neglect, indifference or a thousand other reasons the result is the same:  dysfunctional children.

My prayer is for the mothers who are wishing for a “do over” this Mother’s Day.  It is for the countless number of sons and daughters who can’t or won’t be buying a card for mom this Sunday.  I can only imagine the hurt on both sides.

There are tears on the face of motherhood today, and my prayer is for all those who struggle with this every year.

Song for the day:  “Heal the Wound”  by Point of Grace

www.youtube.com/watch?v=zB0Yh_HS19I

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andrew
    May 09, 2013 @ 08:46:57

    She who rocks the cradle rules the world.

  2. chemocurls
    May 09, 2013 @ 09:14:37

    So true, Andrew. Great responsibility but a great reward for many. God bless.

  3. Howard Brecheisen
    May 09, 2013 @ 11:15:19

    Awesome devotional, Connie!  Love, Joyce

    ________________________________

