Remembering my Mother


Scripture for the day:  2 Timothy 1:5 “when I call to remembrance the genuine faith that is in you, which dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded is in you also.”

Timothy was fortunate to have a mother and grandmother who were believers and could lead him to accept Jesus as the Messiah.  I, too, had that blessing in my life, and I am so grateful.  As Mother’s Day approaches, I am remembering those two special women in my life.

My grandmother was a godly woman.  I knew that even as a child.  She had the sweetest smile and laugh, and she used them freely.  She devoted her life to serving her family and her Lord.  She was always there to help a friend, listen to a concern, mend a broken heart.  I loved spending time with her, and I have so many wonderful memories.  I’m sure there must have been harsh words, but I never heard them.  She was a great example of a Christian woman and had a profound influence on my life.

My mother was also a wonderful Christian and lived her faith before me.  She worked tirelessly in her church, serving others, meeting needs, caring for those less fortunate.  Both of my parents came from large families, and my mother prepared lavish meals for everyone.  No one ever left my mother’s table hungry, and it was served with love and a servant’s heart.

I learned from her how to be a woman of God.  She was the epitome of the Proverbs 31 woman.  “She rises while it is yet night, and provides food for her household.”(31:15)  That was my mother.  “She extends her hand to the poor, yes, she reaches out her hands to the needy.”(31:20)  Again, my mother.  “Strength and honor are her clothing;”(31:25) and “does not eat the bread of idleness.”(31:27)  My mother was strong, honorable and never lazy.

I miss her terribly, but her memory lives on.  She touched so many lives and others will remember her fondly on Sunday as a dear grandmother, aunt, sister-in-law, friend.  But I alone will remember her as my mother.

Song for the day:  “My Mother’s Prayer”

I never can forget the day
I heard my mother kindly say,
“You’re leaving now my tender care;
Remember, child, your mother’s prayer.”

Refrain

Though years have gone, I can’t forget
Those words of love—I hear them yet;
I see her by the old arm-chair,
My mother dear, in humble prayer.

Whene’er I think of her so dear,
I feel her angel spirit near;
A voice comes floating on the air,
Reminding me of Mother’s prayer.

I never can forget the voice
That always made my heart rejoice;

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MichelleMarie AntellGourd
    May 06, 2013 @ 09:47:12

    What a lovely tribute to your sweet mother. 🙂

  2. chemocurls
    May 06, 2013 @ 13:36:26

    Thanks for stopping by to read my blog today. God bless. Connie

  3. Howard Brecheisen
    May 06, 2013 @ 22:12:43

    Awesome, Connie!  What a wonderful Christian heritage you have…and YOU, I know, are a wonderful Christian mother to your precious children!  I, too, thank God for my precious Christian mother and I miss her so much.  She passed away at age 89, but I know she is with JESUS!  : )

    Have a very happy Mothers Day!

    Love,

    Joyce

    ________________________________

  4. chemocurls
    May 09, 2013 @ 09:18:58

    Happy Mother’s Day, Joyce. May God bless you and your family as you celebrate the mothers in your lives. Love, Connie

