A Daughter’s Prayer


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 6:14-16 “Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.”

Cancer knocked everything out of me but my faith.  My body was weak and struggling, functioning only with assistance from doctors and nurses.  But my faith was strong.  While I was in ICU, my daughter wrote a prayer for me based on Ephesians 6.  In part it said:

“Shod her feet with the shoes of readiness to spread your good news, your truth.  Let her gently and quietly speak what she knows to be true, and may you amplify her voice as she grows in her confidence in you.  We are merely witnesses to what you have done for us, Lord.  You are the one that brings salvation, not us.”

For a time my feet were shod with boots to increase circulation.  I was unable to walk at all, and I was unable to speak because of a ventilator.  But my daughter said I was kind to those caring for me.  Even if what they did was painful, I was kind.  I thank my God for that, for it was His grace shining through me.  It certainly wasn’t me, although morphine was making me quite giddy.

I have recovered physically.  My voice is still soft and quiet, but I have a BIG message!  I am a witness for Him and what He has done in my life.  I am on a mission to encourage others who may be struggling or maybe plant a seed to bring a new soul to Christ.  I pray that I may be of service today.  I pray that God will use my words for His glory.  I want to be a mighty warrior for Him today.

Song for the day:  “You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTl0svRr0tQ

I can climb the mountains of my life, I can ride the waves of my stormy seas because I am on His shoulders.  He raises me up to more than I can be.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36:26

    Amen! God is consistently using your life to bolster others up in the faith. Your life is firmly anchored in God’s Word. Therefore, even when the ‘storms of life’ batter you back and forth, you’re still solidly grounded!

