Faith Is . . .


Scripture for the day:  Hebrews 11:1 “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

Substance of things hoped for . . .  As human beings we all have hopes and dreams.  What I have found with God, though, is that His hopes and dreams for me are bigger and better than my own.  He can take a simple desire and turn it into something huge!  It always amazes me.  Sometimes he doesn’t grant my wish at all but gives me something even better, something I didn’t even know I wanted or needed.  Again, I am amazed.

Evidence of things not seen . . . A few nights ago, a storm came through in the middle of the night.  A gust of wind cartwheeled my granddaughter’s trampoline across the yard, over a fence and into a tree.  I didn’t hear or feel the gust, but I saw the evidence.  How many times have I been saved from disaster simply by God’s hand in my life.  Countless times, I’m sure.

D.L. Moody said “Faith takes God without any ifs”.  I want to walk in faith today.  I want to be submissive to God’s will for my life and not interject any ifs, ands or buts.  Faith is the victory that overcomes the world, and without faith it is impossible to please God.  (1 John 5:4; Hebrews 11:6)

Song for the day:  Faith Is the Victory

 

Comments are closed.

