Seek First


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 6:33 “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.”

Seek first.  That is where my day started yesterday, but it quickly unraveled with shopping, gardening, cooking, cleaning.  The world simply took over and I missed my alone time with God.

I didn’t have a bad day.  I didn’t assault anyone, verbally or physically.  I didn’t hold anyone hostage or rob a convenience store, but I didn’t have that time of Bible study and prayer that any day so desperately needs.

Sleep captured me last night before I could do anything about it, but today is a new day.  I have a second chance to get it right, and so I am spending time alone with God now.  I want God to rule and reign in my heart today, and so I am starting my day with Him.  The world can simply wait.  I am seeking my Father’s will for my life.  He alone can give me the tools I need to venture forth into my day!

Song for the day:  “Trust and Obey”

“When we walk with the Lord in the light of His Word what a glory He sheds on our way!  Let us do His good will; He abides with us still, and with all who will trust and obey.”

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zanspence
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 09:34:26

    “For there’s no other way..to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obbeeeyyyyy!!”

  2. chemocurls
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 12:48:06

    Amen! Sing it out! God bless.

  3. Pat Hallam
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 12:59:32

    “Seek ye firs”t was the theme that started my day. The time I spent in 2 Corinthians was filled with timely messages and insights which i promptly decided to share on my blog. But God had other plans and the document disappeared into cyber space not to be retrieved. It seems that pride was rearing its ugly head and God was seeking humility. I repented and sought to listen to God more and write less.

  4. chemocurls
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 14:19:51

    Spending more time with God is always a good thing, Pat. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

