Wonderfully Made


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 139:14 “I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well.”

When I was diagnosed with cancer, I immediately went into fight mode.  I felt as though my body was under attack, and I needed to muster all my weapons to fight.  I would sit in my recliner when I was going through chemo and picture cancer cells.  I would borrow the Mucinex “green blob” from the commercial and shoot darts and flaming arrows at it.  It was my way of visualizing my “fight” with cancer.

At a healing workshop last week, I heard a different perspective.  Those cancer cells are a part of me.  They aren’t a foreign invader.  They are me.  True, they have lost their way, become confused and done horrendous things, but they are still me.  Much like a wayward child, they are to be loved, valued.  They may be different from the way I would desire, but they are still a part of me.  I am wonderfully made, and God loves me just the way I am!

Job 33:4 says “The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”  I am alive.  God has made me, and I am His.  So I am thanking Him today for my imperfect body.  I am loving my toes that are numb and painful from neuropathy.  They are mine, and they still serve me well.  I am loving my skin with all its wrinkles and the imperfections of time.  It still covers my body; keeps out harmful toxins; protects my inward parts.  I am loving that lone cancer cell in my body.  I am, in truth, hoping that it does not go crazy, but loving it just the same.

Isaiah 64:8 says “But now, O Lord, You are our Father; we are the clay, and You are our potter; and all we are the work of Your hand.”  I am the work of His hand.   Not just the pretty, functioning parts, but all of me.

Song for the day:  “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made” by Matt Redman

“You gave me this breath, and You gave me this strength, and every day I’ll live to obey You.  With all of my heart, with all of my soul; let every breath I’m breathing display You God.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khariscourtney
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 09:41:04

    Reblogged this on In Bird and Song and commented:
    This is a beautiful post from a beautiful woman and cancer survivor. Offers a lot of insight into how we should view ourselves and how God sees us. I pray you are all touched by her words.

    In Love and Christ,
    KC

  2. chemocurls
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 11:31:54

    Thank you so much for reblogging my post. I am humbled. May God bless your day.

