Lying, Perverting the Truth


Scripture for the day:  Revelation 12:9-11 “So the great dragon was cast out, that serpent of old, called the Devil and Satan, who deceives the whole world; he was cast to earth, and his angels were cast out with him.  Then I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, ‘Now salvation, and strength and the kingdom of our God, and the power of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down.  And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death.’”

I don’t like lies.  It makes me angry when someone lies to me.  Not keeping one’s word annoys me, too, and people do it all the time.  I don’t like that either, and to me it is a lie.  I could almost always tell when my kids were lying.  They usually just had that “guilty” look on their face or they wouldn’t look me in the eye or something.  I just knew.

Satan, on the other hand, is a pro at lying.  He is clever and beguiling.  He deceives, perverts, and conceals his true motive.  As a Christian, I am always under attack.  He wants to win my heart and soul.  He wants me to worship at his feet.  I refuse to be won or to worship him as lord of my life.  My heart, my soul, my very being belong to Jesus.  I have the Holy Spirit to guide me and God’s Word to sustain me.

Satan cannot have any part of me today because I am standing close to the Almighty!  It is a very good place to be.

Song for the day:  “Standing on the Promises”

Words from this hymn explain my position in Christ today:  “Standing on the promises I cannot fall, list’ning every moment to the Spirit’s call, resting in my Savior as my all in all, standing on the promises of God”.  I simply rest in Him today.

 

Comments are closed.

