Waiting . . . With Jesus


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 3:10-11 “that I may know him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death, if, by any means, I may attain to the resurrection from the dead.”

 I went to my oncologist in Tulsa last week.  I don’t like going there because it reminds me of where I’ve been.  I want to live in the present, not the past, but old memories flood over me.  Cancer sits on a ledge slightly above my consciousness, poised to leap into my life again.  Will it be today?  My tumor marker had doubled last time, and I still haven’t heard what it was last week.  I am waiting.  Part of me doesn’t want to know.  What if the cancer is back?

I am praising God for His resurrection power, the victory over death and the promise of eternal life.  Anything I suffer on this earth can be understood and explained at the foot of the cross.  Jesus simply understands suffering.  I know him!  I rest in His assurance today.  He is holding my hand while I wait.

Song for the day:  “At the Cross”

I’m singing the chorus today as I wait for test results:  “At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light, and the burden of my heart rolled away, it was there by faith I received my sight, and now I am happy all the day!”

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Correna
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:06:05

    I AM KEEPING YOU IN PRAYER!!!!!!!!!!!! I could say all kinds of words but they wont do anything, but PRAYER will!!! God bless you

  2. Ellie
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:12:08

    As you already know, you have my prayers, not only today but always. May His Will be done and may that Will be favorable. Blessings and strength,

  3. chemocurls
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:15:17

    Thanks, Correna. Waiting is hard. Waiting with Jesus is easier. I’ve called to get the results, so maybe I’ll hear today. So frustrating that they don’t call. It’s like it doesn’t concern me. Hello???? I really appreciate your prayers today. Hugs, Connie

  4. chemocurls
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 08:11:58

    Tumor marker was down, Correna! Thanks so much for your prayers.

  5. Correna
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 08:57:21

    Oh, am I glad, thank you so much for letting me know, that means a lot to me. I am so happy for you. God is good!!! Have a wonderful day and celebrate!! yay!!!!

