To Be


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God;”

I had the privilege of attending a healing workshop last week.  One of the things discussed was the concept of healing through believing that simply being is enough.

My life has always been about doing.  I derived my identity, my purpose by doing.  It was through activity that I found fulfillment.  I loved doing for others, and I thought that was what my life was about.

My cancer diagnosis and subsequent treatment changed my life.  I was no longer able to do many simple things that I had taken for granted.  I didn’t have the energy to cook or clean.  Shopping was out of the question.  Things were done to me and for me, but I was unable to do very much for myself.  Doing things for others was not even a remote possibility.

What I found in those dark days, though, was peace.  I found a much deeper relationship with God than I had ever known before.  I found the grace to simply let go.  I discovered the love and friendship of others that had always been there but gone unnoticed because I was always doing.  I saw my life in a much clearer sense than ever before, and I liked what I saw.

After my strength returned, I didn’t go back to my old ways.  I liked the new life I had found, and I wanted to continue living it.  I decided my life had merit, worth, simply because I was alive.

I purposely structure time now to simply be.  It is OK to rest, reflect, write, think.  I don’t need to be in a constant state of motion or emotion.  In fact, I find I am happier now when I have quiet moments to just be me.  The world can whir around me, and that is all right.  I will participate at times, but I will no longer define myself by how much I am doing.  I will take time to simply be.

Song for the day:  “Help Me Find It” by Sidewalk Prophets

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIpIHfZ88PM

This is my new favorite song!  “If there’s a road I should walk, help me find it.  If I need to be still, give me grace for the moment.  Whatever your will, help me find it.”

That is my humble prayer today:  Whatever YOUR will, help me find it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 10:13:54

    Once again, your positive attitude uplifts my spirit on a Monday. Your incredible sense of purpose in God’s plan is an inspiration to all! Blessings,

  2. chemocurls
    Apr 15, 2013 @ 12:45:53

    So glad I could have a positive influence on your Monday! It is a much-maligned day. God bless.

    Sent from my iPad

