Iceberg Lettuce


Scripture for the day:  Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for me with all your heart.”

Our pastor always says we have as much of Jesus as we want.  As sons and daughters in Christ, God is available to us 24/7.  He offers a smorgasbord of blessings!  Why then do we often just have iceberg lettuce, plain, no dressing?  God is offering steak, potatoes, gravy, green beans, rolls, and chocolate cake, but we just ask for salad.  Plain.

There are several verbs in this scripture and they all denote action from us.  We are to call upon the Lord, pray and seek Him with all our heart.  Why do we settle for just salad?

God loves me!  He wants to bless me!  May I truly seek Him today, study the bounty He has put before me and savor each offering.  God is so good.  I want a lot of Him in my life today.  Not just iceberg lettuce.

Song for the day:  “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing”

Tune my heart to sing your grace; let me lift my song in loudest praise.  May I realize the source of every blessing in my life and claim even more that God has in store for me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 09:07:03

    Excellent post once again! As my husband (who just was awarded his Theological Doctorate) and I look toward whatever God’s desires for us, we need to keep this simple but profound statement in mind! We have sincere hearts but each time a decision comes up we only want to do His bidding. If faced with several choices sometimes God, as a loving parent, simply gives us the desires of our heart. As long as it pleases God, choose whichever because all are possible. (By the way, I hate Iceberg letuce! So blah! 🙂 )

    Please pray for God to open doors for us, thank you my dear friend. Blessings,

  2. chemocurls
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 09:39:57

    Thanks for reading my blog, Ellie. I hate iceberg lettuce, too!!! Will pray that the desires of your heart are reflective of God’s bounty and not plain lettuce. May He open and close doors according to His perfect will for your lives. Congrats to your hubby! Hugs in Him, Connie

  3. Pat4037
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 10:54:11

    “call upon the Lord, pray and seek Him with all our heart” Thanks

  4. chemocurls
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 14:29:51

    Thanks for reading my post today, Pat. God bless.

