Plugged In


Scripture for the day:  Romans 5:5 “Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

I love having someone’s attention when I am talking to them.  Nothing irritates me more than having the person stare at a computer screen or phone when I am talking.  I was taught to look someone in the eye when they were speaking.  I still consider that the polite thing to do, but it is becoming a rarity.  I remember my kids’ eyes glazing over at times during a “lecture” from mom, but at least they were looking at me.  Listening?  Maybe not, but I was hopeful.

God gave us the Holy Spirit to convict us of our sins and to teach us.  The Holy Spirit helps us understand the Bible and apply it to our lives.  We must listen, however, and we must desire to change.  I wonder how often I am simply not engaged in what the Holy Spirit is trying to tell me.

My prayer today is that I will listen and act on what is being said by that small voice inside of me.  I want to be tuned in, focused and usable by God today.  I fully expect God to hear and answer my prayers.  I’m very thankful that He isn’t distracted or doesn’t have time for me.  Worse still, what if He didn’t care?

Song for the day:  “Living for Jesus”

Let me be plugged in today, living for Jesus.  May I be attentive and live for Christ alone.

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 10:15:04

    Excellent point! Aren’t we glad that God isn’t rude to us? We always have his complete attention, so we know he could never be human, right? 🙂

  2. greenlightlady
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 20:48:26

    Great message followed by an equally good prayer! My daughter and I had a conversation today about this very topic… I was the guilty one! 🙂 Often God speaks through our offspring.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

