God’s Armor


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 6:12 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.  Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”

I went to Oklahoma State University and learned to love college wrestling.  I liked it more than football maybe because we actually won wrestling matches and hardly ever won a football game.  I appreciated the athleticism of the young men and their determination to win.  It was just them against an opponent.  No team effort.  Winning or losing was up to the individual and their preparation and skill.

As Christians we are in a wrestling match with satan.  He is using all his evil forces to attack us and we must be ready.  Girdle, breastplate, boots, helmet, shield and sword.  We will need them all to fight this battle, and it has begun.

When satan starts slinging his arrows at me today, I pray I am ready.  May I use the full armor of God to defend myself and my family.  The enemy is sly and cunning, using lies and deception to fight.  But my God is stronger.  And if I am armed with His righteousness, I am stronger, too.

Song for the day:  “Stand Up, Stand Up for Jesus”

I am a soldier in God’s army.  I will have battles to fight today.  May the armor of God protect me as I venture forth.

 

Comments are closed.

