Personal Pronouns


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 10:4 “The wicked in his proud countenance does not seek God; God is in none of his thoughts,”

Me, myself and I.  Personal pronouns, useful in referring to oneself.  They are very tiny words but can sometimes grow out of proportion.  They can consume the mind and soul of a person and cause them to forget all about God.

Right in the middle of “sin” and “pride” is “i” and therein lies the rub.  If we put ourselves on a pedestal, fill rooms with our trophies and become consumed with our self-worth, sin enters into the picture.  We forget to give God the glory and praise and focus on what we have done, how wonderful we are.

When we come to the throne of grace, however, those little personal pronouns suddenly shrink.  It is impossible to come before the Father and feel important or prideful.  When face to face with His majesty, we are trivial.  I come to Him today, leaving pride and conceit at His feet, and praying that my focus will be on Him, on others and not on self.

Song for the day:  “Empty Me” by Jeremy Camp

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PuZ5wXnRCvQ

I will put my faith in God today.  Let Him empty me.  Let the personal pronouns take a rest.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat Hallam
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 07:38:04

    Thanks for posting this today and for introducing me to this wonderful song of relinguishment. I thank God for you.

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 09:18:46

    Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate your visit and your comment. May God bless your day. Connie

