A Child


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 19:14 “And Jesus said, ‘Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven.’”

I think I’ve found the fountain of youth:  a child.  Any child will do, but a grandchild is wonderful if you happen to have one around.

I spent yesterday with my 4-year-old granddaughter.  We laughed, sang silly songs, told stories, rode in the back of a pickup truck on the driveway, and ate yummy food.  I made smiley faces on our thumbs, and Thumbelina danced and twirled about.  We tried to teach a stuffed animal ballet steps.  We played hide and seek. We laughed at everything and nothing at all.  We made up songs and sang them with great gusto if not perfect pitch.  Life was full of awe and wonder.  Everything was exciting.  The deer grazing in our woods were “adorable”!  The box elder bugs were “so cute”.  The food was a “yummy”.

For nine hours, I was a kid again.  The cares of the world were tossed into a pile in the corner and simply forgotten.  They are still there, and I will pick them up again today, sort them out.  But for a few precious hours yesterday  I remembered the joy and wonder of being young.  I think my arteries may be a little more elastic today, my mind a little clearer, my gait a little faster . . . all because of a child.

Song for the day:  Jesus Loves the Little Children

 www.godtube.com/watch/?v=7PDL6WNX

Comments are closed.

