God Makes the Difference


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 34:4-7 “I prayed to the Lord and He answered me, freeing me from all my fears.  Those who look to Him for help will be radiant with joy; no shadow of shame will darken their faces.  I cried out to the Lord in my suffering, and he heard me.  He set me free from all my fears.  For the angel of the Lord guards all who fear Him, and He rescues them.

I have had two very dramatic events in my life, and my reaction to those events has shaped me.

The first tragedy was losing my father at 23.  I prayed to the Lord, but I was not contrite but demanding.  I wasn’t really seeking Him; I was angry with Him.  Why had He taken my father?

The second major difficulty in my life was being diagnosed with cancer at 65.  This time my reaction was completely different.  I cried out to God, and He picked me up and carried me through the ordeal.

Both events were life changing, but my reaction to them was even more life changing.  I walked away from God the first time and accepted what the world had to offer.  I found it lacking in every way.  The second time I gave the situation, all my fears and anguish to God, and He gave me peace and joy.

What a difference God makes in every situation.  The world only offers me despair, difficulty and death.  God offers me peace, joy and everlasting life.  It seems like a simple choice.

Song for the day:  “Where I Belong” by Building 429

All I know is I’m not home yet.  Take this world and give me Jesus!  This is not where I belong!

www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOtsB4O1p3o

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. organicnaturals
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 09:39:26

    Like you, I lost my father at age 22 and was angry at God for taking him at such a young age. Shortly thereafter, I became acutely ill in a coma and almost lost my life, but for the Lord who had other plans for me. I then lost my hubby who left me. These events so close together shaped my future with God and He has been the source of my strength and joy, and has always been there for me in times of despair. He has also restored my life with my beloved hubby. As you have said, “what a difference God makes in every situation” when one turns to Him! Praise His name forever!

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 09:45:17

    I’m so glad that you, like me, have found new life in Christ! Thanks for stopping by today. May God bless your day. Connie

  3. organicnaturals
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 09:49:23

    Thank you, Connie. Many blessings to u, my sister. Toni

  4. Michelle
    Mar 14, 2013 @ 13:50:05

    Love the Scripture and song.

