Salvation


Scripture for the day:  Philippians 2:12-13 “Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.”

We are to work out our own salvation.  Family members can’t save us.  Friends can’t save us.  They can pray for us, and that is good.  But it is up to the individual to seek their own salvation.

I was brought up in a Christian family.  I had nurturing parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles that lived the Christian life before me.  That didn’t make me a Christian.  It was only when I accepted Christ and entered into a personal relationship with Him that I was saved.

Cancer is not anything to want or desire in one’s life, but it was a positive thing in my life.  The fight was not pleasant but what God achieved in me through the struggle was and is a beautiful thing.  He has worked His perfect will in my life to draw me closer to Him and give me the kind of joy and peace I had never known before.

Sometimes God has to knock us down so He can pick us up and remake us.  I was too stubborn, too full of pride to listen.  He allowed cancer in my life so I would surrender.  I did.  I do.  I give Him this day and ask that He make me wholly His.  May my life reflect Him, honor Him, glorify Him today and forever.

Song for the day:  “‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus”

“Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!  How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er! Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus! O for grace to trust Him more!”

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 09:43:44

    Beautiful surrender. It’s hard to “like” this because I’m so sorry you ever had cancer in the first place. However, your life is such an inspiration to me and others, I praise him for whom you’ve become. God knows all, so in His infinite wisdom knew that your strength would strengthen me. Praise God for your positive attitude amidst struggle!

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 09:50:29

    Thanks for the kind words, Ellie. I haven’t forgotten about your kind award nomination. I’ve just been very busy with other things. Hopefully there isn’t a statute of limitations on accepting! God bless. Connie

  3. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 10:03:02

    Naa, you can do this in your own time and just enjoy yourself. Just like salvation, you can’t lose it!

  4. Howard Brecheisen
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 10:34:06

    Connie, this is telling it like it is, my dear friend.  Thank you for sharing your heart…your faith…your salvation story with all of us.  I feel like I have grown, as a Christian, since I have known you.   I thank God for you!  God is so good and it is “so sweet to trust in JESUS”!      Love you!  Joyce

    ________________________________

  5. chemocurls
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 12:42:49

    Thanks, Joyce!! Hope all is well. God bless. Love u.

