Sit Still, Be Quiet


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God; . . .”

I can still hear my mother saying, “Connie, sit still.  Be quiet.”  She said it a lot and then she didn’t have to say it at all.  She could just give me “the look”.

I was an active child, and I loved to talk.  I was always moving, doing something, so it was difficult for me to be quiet, peaceful, still.  I haven’t changed much.  Even now, I find it hard to be still.

When I was going through chemo, I didn’t have a choice but to be still.  My red blood cells were dying faster than my body could replace them, and so fatigue was a part of my life.  I was tired all the time.  It was a time to focus on God, to be still and just listen.  I was very unhappy about the circumstance, but I was powerless to change it.   God used it to His glory.

My red blood cells are fine now.  I have more energy than I can use in a day.  But He wants me to be still.  Be quiet.  Know that He is God.  And, so I am obeying Him now at the start of my day.  I am yielding to His voice, and my day will be better because of my obedience.

Song for the day:  “Have Thine Own Way, Lord”

“Have thine own way, Lord!  Have thine own way!  Thou art the potter, I am the clay!  Mold me and make me after Thy will, while I am waiting, yielded and still.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greenlightlady
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 11:20:46

    Lovely post! I, too, find it a challenge to be still. My quiet time is first thing in the morning before my motor really gets going…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 11:23:08

    Thanks, Wendy. Even if I’m sitting, my mind is racing! God bless. Connie

